Review: Fermented: a four-season approach to Paleo probiotic foods

November 16, 2013

Fermented Book Review

I have been wanting to try my hand at fermentation for quite some time. I completely believe in its all of its benefits, and I eat unpasteurized sauerkraut regularly. But fermenting myself? I hadn’t quite worked up the guts to do that, until now. I was super excited to review Jill Ciciarelli’s book, Fermented, because it meant I’d finally have to commit to actually fermenting something. And luckily for me, Fermented was the perfect guide through the process.

Fermented Carrot sticks 3

Fermented Carrot Sticks 1

First of all, as the title describes, “a four-season approach to Paleo probiotic foods”, all of the recipes are paleo (except for a few primal ones). So that meant I could tackle any recipe I wanted to. But what really helped was the fermentation basics section, which I read through first. Jill starts with an explanation of the history of fermentation, going through all of the different foods various cultures have fermented over the years. She then explains the health benefits of fermentation. And then dives into the chemistry of it all. Next up is the practical aspect of equipment and ingredients, including starters. So, by the time you reach the first recipe in the book, that for basic sauerkraut, you feel sufficiently primed to dive in (not to mention excited!). The handholding was much appreciated, as I’ll be the first to admit that I get a little squeamish at the mere mention of mold.

Thankfully, there was no mold in sight when I tackled the second recipe in the book: Fermented Whole Vegetables. Mind you, Jill does say that it is perfectly normal for mold to appear on the brine’s surface, and that you can simply scrape it away. Still, I’m glad that wasn’t something I had to deal with this early on in my fermentation journey.  The recipe walks you through making pickles, but Jill explains that nearly anything can be fermented using this method. So, I decided to make carrot sticks.

It was super easy to make the carrot sticks. I basically cut up some carrots, put them in a jar with some dill, and covered them with a brine (water plus salt). I then let the carrots ferment for a week, and voila, fermented carrot sticks! It really was that simple. They’re crunchy, tasty, and a great healthy addition to my meals. The hardest part was having to wait all those days for the process to finish! :)

Now I’m stoked to try some other ferments. There are many recipes to choose from, and they’re thoughtfully grouped by season, and beautifully photographed. I’m especially curious about the beverage section (hard apple cider anyone?). making coconut yogurt, and some of the kraut variations like kimchi and radicchio.

Fermented foods are a vital part of a healthy diet, and I highly recommend Fermented to help inspire you to try fermentation yourself.

Do you ferment? Have you read Fermented? What is your favourite food to ferment? Please share your thoughts in the comments…

Fermented Carrot Sticks 2

PrintFriendly and PDF

Leave a Comment

{ 135 comments… read them below or add one }

Julie November 17, 2013 at 4:16 PM

Yes, I ferment food and love everything about the process, from the prepping of the vegetables or fruit to the eating of the finished product. I was introduced to it by the book, Nourishing Traditions . I mainly do sauerkraut, I also like carrot sticks, pearl onions, beets, Kim chi, salsa, chutney. Beet kvass is also a favorite and a real elixir of health. I also like making yogurt, kefir, buttermilk, fromage blanc . Once you get started it is hard to stop. I also have a whole cupboard devoted to empty jars! You see how enthusiastic a person can get. I think you will really have fun with this and you will save lots of money over the store bought versions.


admin@primalist November 18, 2013 at 9:05 PM

Hi Julie – I was wondering the other day if you’re still reading, haven’t heard from you in a while! :) Nourishing Traditions is a great book. Except prior to trying this recipe I actually tried the ginger and shredded carrot recipe from that book, and failed miserably. My carrots got all slimy, which I found out afterwards is actually a common problem with that particular recipe, I don’t know why. But no issues with these carrot sticks, thank goodness. I’m looking forward to experimenting more. Would love to make my own yogurt, but I would be more motivated to do it if I had access to raw milk – now that would be a nutritional powerhouse. And you make me feel better about what seems like my hoarding of jars! I use them a lot for freezing stock.


Julie November 23, 2013 at 4:09 PM

Elana, yes I also had problems with the recipe for ginger dill carrots in NT. The grating makes for a hoochy situation in the jar! Carrot sticks work much better. Why not try making yogurt using low pasteurized milk? Honestly that is what I have to do most the time anyway because raw milk is hard to come by for me too.
Sorry I have been so quiet lately. I am still around! The other day I made your pumpkin mouse recipe only I used butternut squash and took it to our friends for dinner. It was a hit.

Tess November 22, 2013 at 1:05 PM

What a thoughtful segment on fermentation. Prior to adopting the Paleo I used to love the all day process of making home made bread – waiting for it to rise on the windowsill between kneadings before putting it in the oven. I had been missing the process of creating something that takes time and is enhanced by anticipation . I’m excited about reading up on fermentation and about adding it to my diet plan. Thank you so much for sharing this.


admin@primalist November 22, 2013 at 6:05 PM

Sounds like fermentation may be just the thing for you. The wait time is a little longer, but there’s certainly that ritual involved, of making something yourself and seeing it being created. Good luck with your fermentation adventures! :)


fclhgfdzwl November 27, 2015 at 12:20 AM

Review: Fermented: a four-season approach to Paleo probiotic foods
fclhgfdzwl http://www.g8e6ndygg6fn8wb18975h24lake46701s.org/


kenneth cole new york mens kc1514 November 28, 2015 at 8:05 AM
chanel logo wall art stickers November 28, 2015 at 8:12 AM
fifa 15 coins goldah November 28, 2015 at 8:19 AM
dolce gabbana the one kwc 941 November 28, 2015 at 8:26 AM
parajumpers jackets new york city zip November 28, 2015 at 8:38 AM
canada goose lodge hoody navy November 28, 2015 at 8:47 AM
vibram fivefingers jaya lr review November 28, 2015 at 8:52 AM
longchamp homme pliage November 28, 2015 at 9:06 AM
raymond weil geneve 3742 November 28, 2015 at 9:12 AM
denver broncos greased jerseys November 28, 2015 at 9:23 AM
burberry nylon tote raspberry November 28, 2015 at 9:25 AM
new england patriots jerseys canada review November 28, 2015 at 9:38 AM
canada goose outlet 70 November 28, 2015 at 9:53 AM
dior rhinestone necklace November 28, 2015 at 10:05 AM
north face boots amazon November 28, 2015 at 10:12 AM
haglofs roc q jacket November 28, 2015 at 10:26 AM
ralph lauren purses dillards quilts November 28, 2015 at 10:32 AM
toms sizing m10 November 28, 2015 at 10:46 AM
tods on sale uk jaguar November 28, 2015 at 10:59 AM
belstaff centaur leather jacket November 28, 2015 at 11:25 AM
armani uhr 5905 November 28, 2015 at 11:46 AM
Pas Cher Bleu UGG Slippers 1002807 Paris November 28, 2015 at 12:06 PM
Michael Kors Laser Logo Tote Bags Gray November 28, 2015 at 12:28 PM
balmain outfit November 28, 2015 at 12:35 PM
chloe norgaard gif November 28, 2015 at 12:42 PM
parajumper coats outlet zweibrucken November 28, 2015 at 1:17 PM
hollister coupons march zodiac November 28, 2015 at 1:24 PM
miu miu jelly flats australia November 28, 2015 at 1:32 PM
sunglass hut outlet dallas November 28, 2015 at 1:38 PM
stuart weitzman 6.5 November 28, 2015 at 1:45 PM
armani lip maestro 500 November 28, 2015 at 1:56 PM
audemars piguet iced out price November 28, 2015 at 2:05 PM
skechers sandals 2015 November 28, 2015 at 2:16 PM
air jordan 4 fear for sale uk 50cc November 28, 2015 at 2:30 PM
vivienne westwood boudoir reviews November 28, 2015 at 2:38 PM
bottega veneta 1966 luglio November 28, 2015 at 3:06 PM
cam newton jersey ladies watches November 28, 2015 at 3:21 PM
panerai replica clock November 28, 2015 at 3:27 PM
green bay packers jersey white breath November 28, 2015 at 3:33 PM
beat headphones wireless November 28, 2015 at 3:41 PM
coach usa 21 schedule November 28, 2015 at 3:47 PM
panerai watch strap tubes November 28, 2015 at 3:54 PM
pittsburgh steelers store ebensburg pa zip November 28, 2015 at 4:05 PM
haglofs womens p3 zenith q pant November 28, 2015 at 4:11 PM
tiffany necklaces knockoffs amazon November 28, 2015 at 4:24 PM
abercrombie and fitch instagram November 28, 2015 at 4:30 PM
cole haan carolyn boot November 28, 2015 at 4:36 PM
patagonia tours chile argentina map November 28, 2015 at 4:43 PM
rebecca minkoff saachi zip booties November 28, 2015 at 4:55 PM
gucci watches diamonds November 28, 2015 at 5:08 PM
miu miu jeweled strap bag November 28, 2015 at 5:14 PM
philadelphia eagles randall cunningham jersey November 28, 2015 at 5:33 PM
coach 9960 kubota November 28, 2015 at 5:50 PM
panerai zürich November 28, 2015 at 5:55 PM
new york giants jersey dog virus November 28, 2015 at 6:01 PM
denver broncos jersey dress pattern November 28, 2015 at 6:07 PM
oakland raiders jersey with logo 馬 November 28, 2015 at 6:14 PM
longchamp shopper kopen November 28, 2015 at 6:48 PM
skechers stock analysis November 28, 2015 at 7:35 PM
moschino love bags 2015 November 28, 2015 at 7:58 PM
carolina panthers jersey price list November 28, 2015 at 8:05 PM
stella mccartney biodata November 28, 2015 at 8:11 PM
houston texans jersey for dogs xbox November 28, 2015 at 8:29 PM
longines legend diver dimensions November 28, 2015 at 8:35 PM
stella mccartney baby onesies November 28, 2015 at 8:47 PM
toms 6pm 10 November 28, 2015 at 8:53 PM
new england patriots jersey ebay uk 0800 November 28, 2015 at 9:04 PM
timberland socks canada November 28, 2015 at 9:11 PM
chicago bears toddler jerseys uk November 28, 2015 at 9:30 PM
chanel le boy genuine fix November 28, 2015 at 9:36 PM
philadelphia eagles brian dawkins jersey cheap November 28, 2015 at 9:49 PM
bottega veneta pour homme 90 437 November 28, 2015 at 9:53 PM
yves saint laurent makeup sephora haul November 28, 2015 at 10:00 PM
skechers go walk nice uk November 28, 2015 at 10:12 PM
ray ban yellow 230 November 28, 2015 at 10:46 PM
roger vivier las vegas nv November 28, 2015 at 10:59 PM
parajumpers sale outlet review November 28, 2015 at 11:21 PM
haglofs lava 90 review template November 28, 2015 at 11:27 PM
longines presence second hand November 28, 2015 at 11:33 PM
parajumpers xxl xxl November 28, 2015 at 11:39 PM
celine fall 2015 lookbook November 28, 2015 at 11:44 PM
hollister coats guys November 29, 2015 at 12:11 AM
reebok shoes thailand November 29, 2015 at 12:17 AM
ecco bella vegan makeup list November 29, 2015 at 12:23 AM
seattle seahawks logo clothing November 29, 2015 at 12:39 AM
stella mccartney white shift dress November 29, 2015 at 12:44 AM
panerai replica marina November 29, 2015 at 1:01 AM
fitflop 7 64 November 29, 2015 at 1:12 AM
henri lloyd flare 1 2 zip 64 November 29, 2015 at 1:17 AM
merrell eagle origins toddler November 29, 2015 at 1:34 AM
skechers shape ups ladies size 9 November 29, 2015 at 1:40 AM
raymond weil jasmine 35mm 50mm November 29, 2015 at 1:44 AM
valentino hotel crete November 29, 2015 at 1:56 AM
minnesota vikings t shirt vintage soft November 29, 2015 at 2:01 AM
dkny watches clearance November 29, 2015 at 2:08 AM
vivienne westwood for melissa mule 961 November 29, 2015 at 2:18 AM
adidas adipure 11pro review November 29, 2015 at 2:25 AM
denver broncos youth jersey sale home November 29, 2015 at 2:40 AM
tory burch outlet europe youtube November 29, 2015 at 2:51 AM
air jordan retro 3 uk size 4 infant November 29, 2015 at 3:08 AM
tods outlet palm springs 70.3 November 29, 2015 at 3:14 AM
timberland split rock junior gorg November 29, 2015 at 3:20 AM
chloe marcie bag price range November 29, 2015 at 3:26 AM
ray ban frames 4 software November 29, 2015 at 3:31 AM
bcbgmaxazria leather clutch November 29, 2015 at 3:42 AM
ugg boots 5838 November 29, 2015 at 3:48 AM
true religion jeans target November 29, 2015 at 4:01 AM
burberry show wiki skips November 29, 2015 at 4:06 AM
moschino necklace 7mm November 29, 2015 at 4:12 AM
moncler outlet plaza naco November 29, 2015 at 4:17 AM
skechers go run 3 vs go run 4 November 29, 2015 at 4:29 AM
reebok all terrain trifecta November 29, 2015 at 4:42 AM
sunglasses outlet toronto eglinton November 29, 2015 at 4:54 AM
arcteryx gamma lt stone pine nuts November 29, 2015 at 5:02 AM
alexander wang 2015 runway music November 29, 2015 at 5:13 AM
tiffany metro three row bangle bracelet November 29, 2015 at 5:39 AM
celine wallet two tone November 29, 2015 at 5:52 AM
roger vivier uk price fixing November 29, 2015 at 5:58 AM
wholesale giant christmas ornaments youtube November 29, 2015 at 6:19 AM
north face sale nordstrom November 29, 2015 at 6:32 AM
new balance cleats mb4040 November 29, 2015 at 6:40 AM
pandora bracelets quad cities marathon November 29, 2015 at 6:45 AM
parajumper high fill power test November 29, 2015 at 6:52 AM
tag heuer aquaracer price switzerland November 29, 2015 at 7:00 AM
seattle seahawks fan eating popcorn meme November 29, 2015 at 7:13 AM
chanel vitalumiere foundation November 29, 2015 at 7:27 AM
longines in house movement of November 29, 2015 at 7:34 AM
toms outlet 24 November 29, 2015 at 7:41 AM
admin@primalist November 25, 2013 at 6:58 PM

No need to apologize!! :) Happy to hear from you again. And that you liked the mousse!

As for the grated carrot recipe, there’s a similar one in this Fermented book, except she doesn’t use ginger, and in the photo she’s using an airlock, which would probably help in this situation. As for the yogurt, I typically don’t do too much dairy other than high-fat (butter and some cream), so unless it’s raw, I probably wouldn’t want to head down that path as I’d probably end up eating more dairy than I’d like. But if I ever got my hands on raw dairy, then for sure. I’ve been pondering dairy-free coconut yogurt too (which is also in the Fermented book).


Previous post:

Next post: